Skip to main content  


30 May 2019

Town Clerk's Office
John Barradell
Town Clerk & Chief Executive

To the Masters, Prime Wardens, Upper Bailiff and Clerks of the several Livery Companies

Dear Sir / Madam,

Mayoralty and Shrievalty – 2019 Aldermanic Appraisal Process

As is customary, at this time of the year the Court of Aldermen shares with the Livery the names of those Aldermen who it is supporting for progression to the Shrievalty or Mayoralty over the next year or so.

The Court's position on the Mayoralty for 2019/2020 is already clear but I will recap. At the election of the Lord Mayor later this year, if Alderman William Russell is one of the two Aldermen whose name is returned by the Livery to the Court, then he will be elected.

The Court met recently to discuss the Mayoralty for 2020/2021. Two Aldermen were considered for progression: Timothy Hailes and Vincent Keaveny (the current Aldermanic Sheriff). The Court agreed that a deferral, at Alderman Hailes’ request, should be supported on the basis that it would look forward to the time when he was able to offer himself to the Mayoralty in the near future in light of his accepting a senior role in The City with a new employer. Consequently, it has been agreed that Vincent Keaveny shall be supported for the Mayoralty in 2020/2021 and, accordingly, if Vincent Keaveny is one of the two Aldermen whose name is returned at Common Hall in 2020, then he will be elected.

In respect of the Shrievalty in 2019/2020, members of the Livery will be aware that the Court of Aldermen is supporting Alderman Michael Mainelli for election as the Aldermanic Sheriff later this month. The Court’s position in respect of the following year, 2020/2021, is to support Alderman Alison Gowman and Alderman Nicholas Lyons for progression as a double Aldermanic Shrievalty. You may recall that the Court had previously indicated its in-principle support for Alderman Alastair King, however, he believes he will not now be best placed to serve as Sheriff in 2020/21. The Panel and the Court look forward to him being considered at a future date.

As in previous years, the Court hopes that this process of deciding which candidates it will support for progression to higher office in the years ahead continues to be of benefit to the Livery.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Brook Principal Committee and Member Services Manager

All members of the Court of Common Council
All members of the Court of Aldermen
Sir Roger Carr
Elizabeth Corley
Sir Gerry Grimstone
The Officers of the Court of Aldermen
The Chairman of the Livery Committee

18 May 2012
Last Modified:
02 October 2019