Skip to main content  

  • Contact Electoral Services
    Contact us illustration
    Call 0800 587 5537 or email

Common Hall is a meeting of the Liveryman of the City of London Livery Companies, held at Guildhall twice a year, to elect a number of municipal officers including the Sheriffs and the Lord Mayor.

The Lord Mayor is elected annually at Michaelmas, on 29 September and the City's Sheriffs are elected after Midsummer day on 26 June. The predominant role of the Sheriffs is to support the Lord Mayor in their official duties undertaken on behalf of the City of London Corporation.

The following persons were elected as the 2017 Sheriffs of the said City:

  • TIMOTHY RUSSELL HAILES, Alderman and International Banker
  • NEIL GRAHAM MORGAN REDCLIFFE, Citizen and Basketmaker

Notice of Persons Elected (26KB)

More about...