Skip to main content  


Polling districts and polling places review

Polling districts and polling places that are used at parliamentary elections are fixed by the local authority, in this case, the City of London.

The City of London Corporation is carrying out a review of its polling districts and polling places within the City in accordance with the requirements of Section 18C(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (as amended) and Section 17 of the Electoral Administration Act 2013.

The City of London electoral area is currently divided into four polling districts for Parliamentary, European Parliamentary and wider London elections. Each polling district must be allocated a polling place where electors can cast their vote.

When carrying out the review, the Corporation must:

  • Publish a notice of the holding of the review
  • Consult the (Acting) Returning Officer for the parliamentary constituency in which the polling districts are a part
  • Publish all representations made by the (Acting) Returning Officer within 30 days of receipt
  • Seek representations from such persons as we think have particular expertise in relation to access to premises or facilities for person who have different forms of disability
  • On completion of a review, give reasons for its decisions

Timetable for the review

1 July Publication of the Notice of Review
1 July Publication of the (Acting) Returning Officer’s Report on the existing arrangements
and proposals for future arrangements
1 July Start of the consultation period
5 August End of the consultation period
19 September Final report on the review for approval by the Policy and Resources Committee of the
City of London Corporation
1 December Publication of electoral register including any amendments

Documentation for consultation

The deadline for representations is Monday 5 August.

This should be done in writing to:

Electoral Services
City of London
Guildhall, PO Box 270
London, EC2P 2EJ

Or email by getting in touch with the electoral team.