Skip to main content  


Regional, National and European representation

European flag

Representation in Parliament on the London Assembly and in the European Parliament

For elections to the House of Commons, the City of London is joined with some wards in the City of Westminster to form one constituency - the Cities of London and Westminster - represented by one Member of Parliament (MP). MPs are elected by constituents to represent their interests in parliament and raise their concerns with Government.

For elections to the London Assembly, Greater London is divided into 14 Constituencies with 11 Londonwide Members representing the whole of London. Each of the constituencies comprises a grouping of two or more boroughs. For these purposes the City is grouped with the London Boroughs of Newham, Barking and Dagenham, and Tower Hamlets and returns one Assembly Member. The 11 Londonwide members are elected through proportional representation.

London Assembly

For elections to the European Parliament, the United Kingdom is divided into 12 regions one of which is London. Each region has between three and 11 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) elected through proportional representation and each MEP represents each individual in the region to which they are elected. London has nine MEPs .

UK Parliament

European Parliament

Find more information about MPs, MEPs and City of London Members

24 April 2012
Last Modified:
14 January 2020