Skip to content

Our Building Control staff

Date updated: 7/15/2021

We take great pride in the standard of service provided by our staff, who have a vast range of experience and professional expertise within individual technical fields.


For day to day building control purposes, the City is divided into three geographical areas, each of which has a multi disciplinary technical team, dealing in all aspects of Building Control and dangerous structures.

Each team comprises a team leader, four or five project surveyors specialising in fire safety and/or structural engineering, an engineer specialising in mechanical and electrical services and an engineer specialising in drainage.

Members of our staff sit on British Standards Institution and other policy-making committees so that we can guarantee that we are at the forefront of current technical and legislative thinking. Our combined knowledge of the City, its properties and local conditions is of the very highest level.

Management contacts
Name Telephone Qualifications
Gordon Roy (District Surveyor and Environmental Resilience Director) 020 7332 1962 Dip BS MRICS AIFireE
Mark Pundsack (Assistant District Surveyor) 020 7332 1953 BEng (Hons) CEng FIStructE MRICS AIFireE
Tim Gillooly (Assistant District Surveyor) 020 7332 1939 CBuildE MCABE AIFireE
North team contacts
Name Telephone Qualifications
Jon White (Team Leader) 020 7332 1923 MEng CEng MIFireE MCABE
Irene Cheung 020 7332 1966 BSc MSc MRICS
Jonathan Greenwood 020 7332 1959 BSc (Hons)
Andrew Woods 020 7332 1967 BEng (Hons) ACABE AIFireE
Usman Tariq 020 7332 3206 BEng
Rebekah Thomas-Baptiste    BA (Hons)
East team contacts
Name Telephone Qualifications
David Withington 020 7332 1947 BSc
Dalila Lecky   MEng AIFireE
Tim Munday 020 7332 1949 MEng ACGI CBuildE MCABE
Brad Smith 020 7332 1255  
South team contacts
Name Telephone Qualifications
Chris Shiel (Team Leader) 020 7332 1925 BSc MRICS
Tak Chung 020 7332 1965 BSc CEng MIStructE MRICS
Parry Kanwal 020 7332 3906  BEng (Hons) MSc PGDip PGCE CBuildE FCABE
Michael Williams 020 7332 1473 BSc MCIOB MRICS
James Binstead    
Technical support contacts
Name Telephone Qualifications
Zang Banda (Structures) 020 7332 1930 BEng (Hons) AMIStructE
Graham Lelliot (Mechanical and Electrical) 020 7332 1931 BEng (Hons) MIFireE
Geoff Gear (Mechanical and Electrical) 020 7332 1958 IEng MSOE MIPlantE
Email the District Surveyor's Office
Building Control brochure PDF (2.65MB)
Date submitted: 1/03/20

Find out more about our Building Control service and staff in our brochure.