Skip to main content  
 
 

 

London Wall Place - Highway and Public Realm Works

Montage of London Wall

The City of London Corporation is delivering highway and public realm works around the new London Wall Place Development. The scheme will deliver a high quality public realm in the surrounding streets and open spaces that complements the development and caters for the future growth of pedestrians in the area.

The works will:

  • Enable safe access to the new offices for pedestrians and road users
  • Provide new pedestrian connections through the site between London Wall and Moor Lane
  • Enhance and widen footways and crossings for pedestrians
  • Rejuvenate and enlarge St Alphage Garden for residents, workers and visitors.

The works will be undertaken by the City's Highways Contractor, JB Riney. The full costs of the works are being met by the developer, Brookfield, as part of their planning obligations.

Construction Programme and Phasing

Works will be delivered in 8 different phases over a 14 month period, with works programmed to be completed in late 2017. The timeline for the public realm construction will be updated once we have confirmed dates from the developer for the removal of their site hoardings to allow the City Contractor access.

The construction phasing will be designed to minimise the impact of the construction activity on residents and local traffic. The traffic gate on Moor Lane will only remain open if Wood Street is closed.

The majority of the highway works will be carried out during the hours of 8am - 6pm Monday to Friday and 8am - 1pm Saturday. Local residents will be informed in advance of any works outside of these hours. Every effort will be made to keep noise and disruption to a minimum and we thank you for your patience and understanding during these works.

Scheduled street closures

Scheduled closures for traffic signal work

Full closure of the junction of Wood Street and London Wall, from 8am Saturday 6 May to Sunday 7 May (the gate at Moor Lane will remain open during the close)

Full closure of the junction of Wood Street and London Wall, from 7pm on Friday 2 June – Sunday 4 June (the gate at Moor Lane will remain open during the close)

Scheduled closures for resurfacing work

Full Closure of Wood Street (north) from 7pm on Friday 19 May – Sunday 21 May

Full closure of Fore Street from Fore Street Avenue to Moor Lane, Saturday 27 May – Friday 2 June

Full closure of Fore Street from Moor Lane to Salter Hall, Monday 5 June – Friday 9 June

Partial eastbound closure of London Wall:
• Friday 16 June to Sunday 18 June
• Friday 11 August to Sunday 13 August
• Friday 18 August to Sunday 20 August

Eastbound closure of London Wall and Fore Street Avenue, Friday 8 December to Sunday 11 December

Partial closure of the junction of Wood Street and London Wall:
• Friday 9 March to Sunday 11 March 2018
• Friday 16 March to Sunday 18 March 2018

Scheduled closures for expansion joint replacement

Full closure of London Wall:
• Friday 12 January to Sunday 14 January 2018
• Friday 19 January to Sunday 21 January 2018
• Friday 9 February to Sunday 11 February 2018
• Friday 16 February to Sunday 18 February 2018

City Highwalks

​A network of highwalks and bridges through the site is being constructed as part of the developer's planning obligations. The planned highwalk network and its connections can be found on the Proposed Walkways Key Plan (85KB).

Consultation

​The scheme was developed in consultation with a Working Party made up of local area representatives and takes into consideration the changing needs in the area as a result of new developments. The Working Party consisted of representatives from a number of organisations set out in this London Wall Place S278 Working Party table (12KB).

A wider public consultation, including question and answer sessions, was hosted in St. Giles Church in April 2016. The comments and feedback received contributed to the final detailed design. The results of the consultation, which ran for three weeks, have now been analysed and presented in the London Wall Place report (750KB) which was presented to City of London Corporation Committees in September 2016.

 

Contact us

​For construction queries or concerns contact the City of London Highways Team at lwppublicrealm@cityoflondon.gov.uk

For noise pollution queries or concerns contact the City of London Pollution Control Team on 020 7606 3030.

We welcome you to subscribe to the project's e-bulletin. If you are interested in receiving the monthly e-bulletin email lwppublicrealm@cityoflondon.gov.uk 


Notifications