Skip to content

Guidance on the CCAS awards application process

Date updated: 31/01/2023

​The selection process

Each year, Clean City Awards Members are able to apply for an award to recognise their efforts and commitment to adopting sustainable practices.

Members are invited to complete an online application form for each of the categories and for Chairman's Cup. The online forms gather a range of information about how your site operates and asks for supporting evidence to confirm the initiatives in place.

Awards categories:

  • Air Quality and Climate Action
  • Communication and Engagement
  • Resource and Circular Economy
  • Plastic Free City

​Each site is then scored to establish which award - bronze, silver, gold - should be presented to each site. The highest scoring sites in each category are invited to present to a panel of judges in order to potentially win the "Category Winner" and "Chairman's Cup" in their category. This process is known as the Final Judging. 

Those invited to the Final Judging give a short presentation detailing initiatives in place, achievements so far this year and the reasons why they deserve to win the Category Winner or Chairman's Cup. This is followed by questions from the panel. 

An awards ceremony is usually held annually in the Mansion House to present the awards and celebrate members' achievements. ​​

More information

Watch our Clean City Award Scheme video or visit the Clean City Award Scheme website.

If you have any queries please contact the CCAS Team or call 020 7606 3110. ​​​