The City of London Corporation supports humanitarian aid in Ukraine
The Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths, more commonly known as the Goldsmiths' Company, is one of the Twelve Great Livery Companies of the City of London and received its first royal charter in 1327.
The Hall is the third on this site, the Goldsmiths' Company being located here since 1339. Little is known of the first Hall but the second was erected in 1634-6 and restored after the Great Fire of 1666. It lasted for almost two centuries, but was eventually demolished in the late 1820s. The present Hall, by Philip Hardwick, remains much as he designed it, although there have been changes to the decorative schemes and the use of rooms. The Hall narrowly escaped complete destruction when in 1941 a bomb exploded inside the south-west corner. Faithfully restored on the exterior after the War and internally modified, it retains much of the charm of an urban palazzo. A major refurbishment which was completed in 1990 has further adapted this great building for the 21st century.
Library and Archives
The Goldsmiths’ Company’s Library and Archive cares for a unique collection relating to the jewellery and silversmithing industries.
Housed on the first floor of Goldsmiths’ Hall in London, the Library was established in the 1950s as part of the Company’s mission to promote jewellery and silversmithing. Today they host hundreds of visitors a year who range from jewellers and goldsmiths to academics and genealogists.
The library collection includes over 8,000 books and more than 15,000 images. Other resources include journals, films and special research collections such as the Twining Collection on regalia and royal jewellery.
Goldsmith's Hall has five spaces available for hire, perfect for receptions, dinners, luncheons and more. For more information, view their website.