Skip to main content  
 
 

 

Visitor information

  •  
    Guided walk on riddlesdown

    Guided walk on Riddlesdown​

Riddlesdown is a very popular site with visitors. The flat track that runs along its length makes it accessible for all and during the summer months, the wildflower displays are spectacular.

When you are planning your visit, please be aware of the byelaws which inform what you can and can't do during your visit.

We welcome walkers, cyclists and horse riders. Cycling and horse riding are permitted on the public bridleways and permissive rides as shown on our visitor map.

Dogs are welcome, please familiarise yourself with the guidance below to ensure you're walking your dog responsibly.

We hope you enjoy your visit to Riddlesdown.

Contact us

For any further information, please contact:

City of London Corporation
Merlewood Estate Office
Ninehams Road
Caterham
Surrey
CR3 5LN

Please email the City Commons team to contact us.

01372 279 083

Or in the case of an emergency please call 01372 279 488​.

Getting to us

Riddlesdown can be visited from several different entrances.

Train

Riddlesdown Railway Station is to the north of the Common and a short walk from the site. For more information please visit the National Rail website.

Bus

The Abellio London Bus 407 runs from Caterham to Sutton and stops along the A22 Godstone Road below Riddlesdown. For information on bus times please visit the Traveline website.

Car

Riddlesdown lies close to junction 7 of the M25. There is a public car park on the site off Riddlesdown Road, which comes off Mitchley Avenue. For the location please see Streetmap or use the AA route planner to plan your journey.

Alternatively, you can plan your journey with the Transport for London journey planner.​​

Visitor map

Download our Visitor Map (380KB) to accompany your visit to Riddlesdown.​

Car park opening times

The free public car park is located at the top of Riddlesdown, off Riddlesdown Road. The gate to the car park automatically opens at 7.30am. Closing times change throughout the year according to the time of dusk - see table below.  

There is a hard standing track which runs along the length of Riddlesdown and is accessible for wheelchair and pushchair users.

Car park closing times
Period from Closing time
Monday 4 February 5.45pm
Monday 11 February 6.00pm
Monday 18 February 6.15pm
Monday 25 February 6.30pm
Monday 11 March 6.45pm
Monday 18 March 7.00pm
Monday 25 March 7.15pm
Sunday 31 March 8.15pm
Monday 8 April 8.30pm
Monday 15 April 8.45pm
Monday 22 April 9.00pm
Monday 29 April 9.15pm
Monday 19 August 9.00pm
Monday 26 August 8.45pm
Monday 2 September 8.30pm
Monday 9 September 8.15pm
Monday 16 September 8.00pm
Monday 23 September 7.45pm
Monday 30 September 7.30pm
Monday 7 October 7.15pm
Monday 21 October 6.45pm
Sunday 27 October 5.30pm
Monday 4 November 5.15pm
Monday 11 November 5.00pm
Monday 18 November 4.45pm
Monday 6 January 5.00pm

Byelaws

When the City of London bought the Coulsdon Commons in 1883, a set of byelaws were drawn up to help with the management of the site. The latest version of the Coulsdon Commons byelaws is available below.

Download Coulsdon Commons Byelaws (70KB).

Walking your dog responsibly

The Commons are a great place to go for a walk with your dog. Please remember you must be able to control your dog so as not to alarm other people, worry livestock or disturb wildlife.

If your dog is off the lead you must be able to see where it is and it should return to you on your command. If both points are true you are in control of your dog and you are a responsible owner.

Please read notices on gateways. Just because you can't see livestock it doesn't mean they're not there.

  • If you're not sure how your dog will behave around other animals (sheep, deer and other dogs) please put it on a lead.
  • Know where your dog is at all times.
  • No one wants an animal to suffer, so keep in control of your dog. If the worst happens, tell us at once, so we can deal with the situation.

 


Notifications