Skip to main content  


Epping Forest: past and present

This year, we're celebrating the 800th anniversary of the Forest Charter, which established rights for everyone to use Epping Forest. Find out more.

Epping Forest has been owned and managed by the City of London Corporation since 1878 when the Epping Forest Act protected it in perpetuity for the recreation and enjoyment of visitors.

However, the Forest has a rich and diverse history stretching back long before 1878, which has left its mark on the environment, from the Iron Age earthworks to Queen Elizabeth's Hunting Lodge to the 50,000 pollarded trees.

We have collected many objects that help to illustrate this history and our museum collection ranges from flints to rusted iron kettles to the stuffed fish that were on display in the Hunting Lodge in the Victorian era.

Images and documents relating to the history of the Forest are held at the London Metropolitan Archive, which is open to the public.

Find out more about the story of Epping Forest through the ages at The View, where we have exhibitions on the Forest’s past as well as objects from our museum collection on display.

Come along to one of our heritage events held throughout the year to help bring the Forest’s fascinating history to life.​​

Visitor centres
What's happening
Art exhibition: our Forest, Nature and the City of London
21 Nov 2017
10:00 - 17:00
Epping Forest
Free, no booking required.

A collection of water colour and acrylic paintings inspired by the Forest, the City of London and nature by Peter Edmonds and Sylvia Cottrell.

Find out more about Art exhibition: our Forest, Nature and the City of London
Christmas grotto
16 Dec 2017
10:00 - 16:00
Epping Forest
£14.95 per child (includes gift), booking required.

Come and meet Father Christmas at Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge and experience a magical day, with lots to do.

Find out more about Christmas grotto
All events at this location