Skip to content
Date updated: 11/10/2020

Mayoralty and Shrievalty

17 April 2020

Town Clerk's Office
John Barradell
Town Clerk & Chief Executive

To the Masters, Prime Wardens, Upper Bailiff and Clerks of the several Livery Companies

Dear Sir / Madam,

Mayoralty and Shrievalty – update

The Chairman of the Privileges Committee of Aldermen, Alderman Sir Alan Yarrow, has asked me to contact you and provide an update in respect of the arrangements for the Shrievalty and Mayoralty beyond September 2020. Customarily, the Privileges Committee would, at this time of year, be turning its attention to appraising Aldermen for progression to High Office in future years (i.e. 2021/22). However, in these unprecedented times following the outbreak of COVID-19, its focus is instead on the current Shrievalty and Mayoralty.

The press release sets out the agreed way forward in respect of the serving Lord Mayor, Alderman William Russell and the serving Sheriffs, Alderman Michael Mainelli and Christopher Hayward . The Lord Mayor was due to step down in November 2020 after completing a one-year term, following the scheduled election of his successor this September. He will now remain in office until November 2021, subject to being formally re-elected later this year. The serving Sheriffs will also serve an extra 12 months until September 2021.

As you are aware, in May 2019 the Livery was informed of the Court of Aldermen’s decision to support Vincent Keaveny for election to the Mayoralty in 2020/2021. The Court remains wholly supportive of Alderman Keaveny assuming the Mayoralty following Lord Mayor Russell’s extended period of Office and looks forward to him working closely with the current Lord Mayor and the Sheriffs during the current crisis, and as the UK moves into a period of recovery. Thinking ahead to 2021/22, the Court of Aldermen remains supportive of Aldermen Alison Gowman and Nicholas Lyons becoming the City of London’s Sheriffs in September 2021.

For clarity, with the agreement of the Court of Common Council, the Elections of Sheriffs (Common Hall) will not therefore take place on 24 June 2020. Further details regarding the Election of the Lord Mayor in September and the Silent Ceremony will be circulated in due course.

Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Brook Principal Committee and Member Services Manager

All members of the Court of Common Council
All members of the Court of Aldermen
Sir Roger Carr
Elizabeth Corley
Sir Gerry Grimstone
The Officers of the Court of Aldermen
The Chairman of the Livery Committee