Skip to content
Date updated: 18/05/2022

Our decision-making arrangements operate on a committee-based system whereby elected Members (Councillors) are appointed annually to serve on our many committees and sub committees. These committees, the principal governing body being the Court of Common Council, meet regularly throughout the year.

Calendar, committees and meetings


Councillors represent a wide range of professions and City interests and take the major strategic decisions that direct the work of the City Corporation. They sit on a variety of committees - also open to the public - that manage the organisation’s different functions.

There are two main types of committee – the first is made up of one member from each of the City's wards plus ex-officio members (membership due to holding a specific office or role); the second is made up members directly elected by the Court of Common Council plus ex officio members. They are elected on a non-party political basis and are unpaid.

The Court of Common Council

This is the City Corporation's primary decision-making assembly, and usually meets every four weeks. Its main business focuses on the reports of committees and members' questions and motions. It works through committees, like any other local authority, but it is unique in that it is non-party political.

Members of the Common Council (also referred to as Common Councillors) are elected by the wards of the City every four years. Each ward returns between two and 10 members depending on the size of the electorate.

The Court of Aldermen

There are 25 Aldermen, one elected for each Ward in the City of London. They all serve on the Court of Aldermen, which meets eight times a year and is chaired by the Lord Mayor. Aldermen are elected at least every six years on a rolling basis.

Aldermen also serve on the Court of Common Council committees, act as governors and trustees of a variety of schools, hospitals, charitable foundation and trust with connections to the City of London.